Connect with us


All you need to know about the Cricket World Cup

The spectacle event in the cricketing calendar will come alive in October with the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup that will take place in India. 


The spectacle event in the cricketing calendar will come alive in October with the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup that will take place in India. 

The illustrious tournament featuring ten teams will run for 46 days, with the anticipated final on November 19. 

The tournament will return to India after a lapse of 12 years and will be the biggest audience, with India home to the largest cricketing fan base. With the first round of cricket tickets released, fans have plenty of anticipation for the big games. 

Here is an overview of the tournament and everything you need to know about the 46 days of cricketing craze. 


A total of 10 teams will participate in this year’s edition. 

  1. India
  2. Afghanistan
  3. Australia
  4. Bangladesh
  5. England (Defending Champions)
  6. Netherlands
  7. New Zealand
  8. Pakistan
  9. South Africa
  10. Sri Lanka

West Indies, the winners of the inaugural Cricket World Cup in 1975 and winners in 1979, will not be participating in the 2023 edition. 

This disappointed the Caribbean nation fans anticipating purchasing cricket tickets to India, but their team failed to get through in the qualifiers. 

Qualification: How did the teams qualify? 

India, being the hosts, received automatic qualification for the tournament. Unlike in 2011, where the tournament was hosted in India and Sri Lanka, India is the sole host, and they receive an automatic spot. 

The other nine spots were decided based on the performance over 3 years. 

Of the nine, seven positions went to the top seven ranked teams at the end of the tournament cycle. This meant that the previous winners, England, were automatically qualified. 

This ranking was through the ICC Super League from July 2020 to May 2023. 

Of the seven teams, the 1996 winners, Sri Lanka and the two-time winners, West Indies, were not given qualification, with their rankings dropping. 

This meant Sri Lanka and the West Indies had to play a qualifier with the other nations to earn a spot. 

It was a disappointing moment for the fans from the two countries since it was the first time they had to play a qualifier. But Sri Lankan fans looking for cricket tickets were delighted after the qualifiers, with Sri Lanka and the Netherlands making it through.

Unfortunately, the West Indies failed to qualify


This year’s format will be similar to what was there in 2018, where the International Cricket Council (ICC) opted for a round-robin format for the first. 

There will be ample options for fans with cricket tickets to watch their favourite team in action, with a guaranteed nine games per team. 

  • The first round will be a round-robin with ten teams playing each other, which will be 45 games
  • The first round will conclude on November 12, with India playing the Netherlands
  • The top 4 will qualify for the quarterfinals 
  • The winners of the semifinals will face off against each other on November 19

The first semifinal will be between the teams finishing first and fourth, and Mumbai will play host to this on November 15

The second semifinal will be between the teams finishing second and third, which will take place on the 16th in Kolkata. 

The game will be played in Kolkata if Pakistan qualifies for the semifinal. In the instance where India qualifies in any of the semifinal spots, this game will be in Mumbai.

In the instance where Pakistan and India play each other in the semifinal, this game will be at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

This venue change accommodates more cricket fans with cricket tickets to watch the game, as the organizers expect more fans for these games. 


The games will be played across various venues in India so that more fans across the country can watch the games. The host cities will be Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, New Delhi, Mumbai and Pune. 

With these diverse venues, the 2023 Cricket World Cup will promise thrilling cricket action and is set to deliver exciting action. 

India vs Pakistan 

One of the most anticipated fixtures with a very high demand for cricket fixtures in any multi-national tournament is the India-Paakistan clash. 

The India-Pakistan game in the group stage is scheduled for October 14, 2023, in the newly opened stadium in Ahmedabad. 

Historically, India holds the lead in ODI encounters between the two sides, winning all seven of the previous meetings. 

With a home advantage and a recent history of success against Pakistan, India is considered the favourite for this crucial showdown.

Regardless of the excitement, the tournament has its fair share of controversies. One of the biggest is the visa delays for the Pakistan team to make it to India. 

Prize Money 

The prize money for the 2023 world is $10 million, with the trophy winners set to get $4 million. The runner-up will take home $2 million, and each semifinalist will get $800,000. 

The teams in the group stage will be taking home $100,000 each. 

Each winner of the group stage will be rewarded $40,000. 

Previous Winners 

Australia leads the overall table with most Cricket World Cup wins with 4. The last win came under Michael Clark in 2015. 

West Indies and India have two wins each. 

Here’s a list of previous winners. 

  • 2019: England
  • 2015: Australia
  • 2011: India
  • 2007: Australia
  • 2003: Australia
  • 1999: Australia
  • 1996: Sri Lanka
  • 1992: Pakistan
  • 1987: Australia
  • 1983: India
  • 1979: West Indies
  • 1975: West Indies

With the stage set for another thrilling edition of the Cricket World Cup, cricket fans worldwide eagerly await the action, hoping for an exciting and memorable tournament.

Diplomatic Row in Cricket World Cup

A diplomatic row has erupted in the Cricket World Cup as Pakistan faced delays in obtaining visas to travel to India for the tournament. This delay comes amid a tense political climate between India and Pakistan, with no bilateral matches between the two nations since 2013.

Tensions Affecting Cricket

The Indian government has only sanctioned matches between India and Pakistan in multi-team tournaments due to political tensions. The 13th edition of the World Cup will be held exclusively in India, beginning on October 5.

Pakistan submitted visa applications for the tournament several weeks ago but has yet to receive them from the Indian government. All other participating teams have received their visas successfully. Pakistan planned a training camp in Dubai before travelling to India for the World Cup.

ICC’s Involvement

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had received assurances from the Indian government about providing visas for all teams. Ehsan Mani, former chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board and the ICC, stated that if Pakistan’s visas were not granted promptly, the ICC could claim damages from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

This situation underscores the intersection of sports and geopolitics, with cricket becoming a focal point of diplomatic tensions between India and Pakistan.

More in Cricket